Facebook Glitch Starts Exposing Users And Their Stalking Habits, People Leave Their Accounts

An embarrassing flaw in Facebook recently led users to rush and deactivate their accounts. The flaw somehow exposed users and their stalking habits, which obviously got really embarrassing very quickly, leading to people ditching their accounts on the platform.

jump to

Facebook users are exposed by a surprise glitch

Facebook bugUnsplash

Strangely, the flaw made it possible for friend requests to be automatically sent to the profiles of people you’d previously viewed. This meant that if you have a special someone you’ve been stalking (in a non-creepy way) for a while, they would have found out about your daily check-ins on their profile.

One Twitter user warned people to beware of the glitch, writing: “Umm… you might want to avoid clicking on users’ Facebook profiles for a while. It’s an automated friend request sender.” .

umm… you might want to avoid clicking user profiles on Facebook for a while. is the automatic sending of friend requests. pic.twitter.com/ettkXhvXV1

—Oliver Cragg (@olliecapa26) May 12, 2023

The helpful user attached a screen-recorded video showing how the platform automatically sent requests to people if they viewed his profile. The person warned others about the social media investigation with his hard-hitting evidence.

People took to Twitter to share their reactions to the glitch

People chimed in and reacted to the tweet. One user wrote: “I was wondering why I kept getting ‘x has accepted your friend request’ all day long.”

See also  What You See First In This Optical Illusion Determines Your Personality Traits

I was wondering why I kept getting “x has accepted your friend request” all day long 🤦

— Eimutis (@_eimutis) May 12, 2023

While one wrote: “Mine was doing the opposite. He was turning down a request. My partner and I tried it. We deleted each other, then I’d send him a request, and within a few minutes, if he’d check his profile, he’d say ‘add friend’.”

Mine was doing the opposite. I was turning down a request. My partner and I tried it. We deleted each other, then I would send him a request and within a few minutes, if he checked his profile, it would say “add friend”.

— Cameron Weederᅠᅠᅠᅠᅠᅠᅠᅠᅠᅠᅠᅠᅠᅠᅠᅠᅠᅠᅠᅠᅠᅠᅠᅠᅠᅠᅠᅠᅠᅠᅠ (@Cameron66142057) May 13, 2023

One user was already used to Facebook glitches and was not surprised: “Nothing new, just another Facebook bug to collect.”

Nothing new, just another Facebook bug to collect.

— 🌼ANNA🌼 (@annlys97art) May 16, 2023

Another wondered: “What if @Meta added a ‘Who Viewed My Profile’ feature like Friendster instead of this automatic friend request? I hope this isn’t true.”

And if @Goal Will you add a ‘Who Viewed My Profile’ feature like Friendster instead of this automatic friend request? I hope this is not true. https://t.co/eIMQCHXpxn

— Cathy (@CasseyBar9) May 12, 2023

A spokesperson for the platform said in a statement to The Daily Beast that the glitch had been resolved and things were back to normal on the platform.

They said: “We fixed a bug related to a recent app update that caused some Facebook friend requests to be sent in error. We have prevented this from happening and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.”

See also  Fueling Tomorrow: South Africa's $4.6 Billion Plant To Make 'The Fuel Of The Future'

For more trending stories, follow us on Telegram.

Categories: Trending
Source: vtt.edu.vn

Leave a Comment