How to know if someone blocked you on Instagram? Here’s how you can find out!

There can be a lot of reasons for being blocked by someone on Instagram. And if you want to know if someone blocked you on Instagram, read the following article. Since we will be discussing how you can find out and what happens if someone blocked you on Instagram.

Fighting the urge to not ask your friend for confirmation if someone blocked you on Instagram can certainly be a tough place to be!

But we can’t blame anyone for having such thoughts since Instagram, like many other social media platforms, doesn’t notify you when someone blocks you.

So if someone hasn’t been in contact with you in a while and you think they might have blocked you, read on to learn how you can find out if someone blocked you on Instagram.

In this article, we will discuss how to tell if someone has blocked you on Instagram and what happens when they do. So let’s find out.

How to know if someone blocked you on Instagram?

To find out if someone has blocked you on Instagram, you can try following the methods that we will discuss below.

  • Find your Instagram username

The first and most direct method to find out if someone has blocked you on Instagram is to look up their username. Just go to the search bar and type your username, then hit search.

So it’s obvious that if you can see your account and check the posts, the user didn’t block you. However, if you see “This account is private” with the “Follow” option, the user may have removed you as a follower from their follower list.

If your account results don’t appear once you hit enter, then you may have been blocked by that user. But, it could also mean three other things: the user can have:

  • Changed your username
  • They deactivated their account
  • They deleted your account
See also  Step-by-step guide to signing in to Comcast email

Since it’s pretty easy to find out if a user has deactivated their account, you can also find out if they changed their username. Just go to any post or comment where you think they were tagged in the past and click on it. Once you tap on their username, you’ll be able to see their newly changed username if they’ve done so.

If you can see your account information, such as your follower count, followers, and bio, but not your posts or the “No posts yet” message, you’ve most likely been blocked.

  • Check your messages

If someone blocked you on Instagram, this will only prevent you and the user from having a conversation from then on. And if you’ve exchanged messages with them in the past, they won’t disappear.

So you can go to your conversation with that person and try to send them a message. If the messages are not delivered, it means that user blocked you.

  • Find your profile from a different account

If you block someone on Instagram, they won’t be able to see their account in the search results. And even if you somehow manage to do that, you won’t be able to see your posts and you’ll get the “No posts yet” message.

So, to confirm if the other user has blocked you, look up their username using a different account. And if the option to continue appears along with other details after searching for them, it means that the user has locked their other account.

  • Check your comments

If you can think of any likes or comments on a post where you or someone else mentioned or interacted with the person you suspect, go there. Please like or comment section and if you can see your account along with other information like bio, posts etc. everything is fine, and it is still added with the person as a follower. However, if you see messages like “No posts yet” or “User not found”, you know what it means. You can also view your favorite posts on Instagram.

  • Search your profile using a link
See also  How to pin Instagram comments and the 3 best ways to use them

Each account created on Instagram is assigned a unique URL that includes the user’s username. To find the unique URL of the person you think has blocked you, follow the steps below:

  • Open the browser on your mobile or PC.

  • Type https://www.instagram.com/username in the search bar and hit Enter.

  • If you are not blocked, your profile will appear, and if you are, the page will display the message “Sorry, this page is not available” as shown in the image below.

So, these were some methods that could possibly help you find out if you are blocked on Instagram. And if none of these methods worked for you, Instagram may not be working. Now let’s see what happens when someone blocks you on Instagram.

What happens when someone blocks you on Instagram?

It is quite easy to find out the accounts that you have blocked as Instagram provides the list of users that you have blocked. However, if you want to find out who has blocked you on the platform, it’s certainly not possible. Unlike the “Blocked Accounts” section, there is an official way as a section for accounts that have blocked you. So the only recourse left is for you to check it yourself, such as looking up the username of the user you are in doubt about.

Methods that don’t work

As we have discussed, there are some methods that work to find out if someone has blocked you on Instagram. However, there are some methods that users tend to think work when in fact they don’t. So we are going to explain them a bit below.

  • Profile picture check

Users think that one of the ways to know if someone has blocked you on Instagram is by looking at their profile picture. But that is not the case if you want to know if you are blocked.

The user may have simply removed their profile picture from the platform, and being blocked does not necessarily have to do with the user blocking you. If you’re wondering how, let us tell you. Whenever a user blocks you on Instagram, you can still see her profile picture. So if someone doesn’t have their display image set, it doesn’t mean they blocked you.

  • trying to send message
See also  How do I optimize my GMB listing?

Unlike Snapchat, Instagram doesn’t display an error message when you try to message someone who has blocked you. In case you’re wondering if you can send a text to the person you thought blocked you and therefore you’re not blocked, don’t rely solely on this method. Because? Because it does not work!

If you continue to text the person, the messages may appear to be delivered, but the end user will not receive them. And not only that, even if the person unblocks you in the future, the user will not receive those messages. So it is useless to send a text message to the person to confirm if he is blocked or not as this method clearly does not work so one should know this.

frequent questions

Does 0 posts mean you are blocked on Instagram?

ANS: No, 0 posts can also mean that the person’s account is private. It does not necessarily have to mean that you are blocked. It is also possible that the user is facing “cannot post to Instagram” issue.

Why can I still text if someone has blocked me on Instagram?

ANS: Instagram allows users to send text messages even if the other user blocks them. However, those messages will never be received by the other user, even if they decide to unblock them in the future.

Does having no profile picture mean you’re blocked on Instagram?

ANS: No, if you can still see the other person’s stories and posts, it means you are not blocked. The user may have simply deleted their profile picture on the platform.

Categories: How to
Source: vtt.edu.vn

Leave a Comment